I had made some workflows that automatically moved my routers backup to a backup folder, but since I’ve switched from DD-WRT to OpenWrt, and I’m not using two routers but only one, I want to delete them. The problem is that I absolutely don’t remember where I put those workflows but I know that are somewhere on my disk since every time I download a file, the Automator icon appears on my menubar:

Screen Shot 2022-04-09 at 08.54.59

And -second trouble- I also don’t remember the name of them. So I searched for any workflow file using Spotlight on my Finder, but Spotlight has found only one, and I remember I have created more than one (probably the others are inside some hidden-to-Spotlight folders).

Screen Shot 2022-04-09 at 08.59.48

Here’s where the very useful mdfind command comes in handy, just write:

Home@iMac / % mdfind -onlyin /Users/Home  workflow
...[lots of files]...
/Users/Home/Library/Workflows/Applications/Folder Actions/R7800 backup.workflow
/Users/Home/Library/Workflows/Applications/Folder Actions/R7000 backup.workflow
/Users/Home/Library/Workflows/Applications/Folder Actions/WAN backup.workflow
/Users/Home/Library/Workflows/Applications/Folder Actions/Pi-Hole backup.workflow
/Users/Home/Library/Mobile Documents/com~apple~Automator/Documents/Quit all.workflow
/Users/Home/Library/Mobile Documents/com~apple~Automator/Documents/Convert to jpg.workflow
/Users/Home/Documents/Vari/DD-WRT/R7800/R7000 backup.workflow
Home@iMac / % 

(the option -onlyin specifies the directory obviously)

…and rm them! Or use the Finder to delete them if you want to put some garbage in your .Trash folder because you use it has a backup (don’t do it  )